Bringing them back from the brink of extinction

Looking for the webinar?

Island Elephants: The Giants of Sumatra by Dr Alexander Mossbrucker

Since 2008, Dr Alexander Mossbrucker, International Elephant Project Field Manager, has devoted his life to studying and protecting the Sumatran elephant (Elephas maximum sumatranus), the most endangered of all Asian elephant species.

In his new book Island Elephants: The Giants of Sumatra, Alex offers a rare insight into the Critically Endangered Sumatran elephant and the urgent steps being taken to secure its future in the wild.

Beginning with a unique excursion into the world of elephants before developing into a detailed compilation of the latest biological research and monitoring in best practice conservation methodologies, Island Elephant provides an in-depth, highly researched approach to protecting the Critically Endangered Sumatran elephant in its natural habitat.

The book is structured in such a way as to represent a good source of information for those concerned about the fate of this extraordinary animal, with future Indonesian conservationists particularly in focus.

Order Your Copy

Webinar: Meet the author

Dr Alexander Mossbrucker joined the International Elephant Project (IEP) in 2012 as a voluntary advisor, and in January 2021 became IEP’s full-time field manager. He is a trained biologist who has studied at several universities in Germany, Panama and Indonesia. Over the past ten years, much of his professional career has focused on ranger patrol management, wildlife monitoring, and human-wildlife conflict management. Alex is the Founder and President of the Sumatran Elephant Conservation Initiative (SECI), and he has authored several scientific publications, including a field guide to Sumatran mammals.

Image credit: Südkurier-Cian Hartung

 

Register for one of our live webinars as we explore what led Alex to write his book, his work with the International Elephant Project, and what the future holds for the Critically Endangered Sumatran Elephant.

Hosted by Leif Cocks, President of The Orangutan Project, each webinar will run for approximately 45 minutes including Q&A. Feel free to ask questions in the chat. 

Webinar 1: Australia/Europe

23 October - Early Session

Los Angeles 1am (PDT) - Saturday

New York 4am (EDT) - Saturday

London 9am (BST) - Saturday

Frankfurt 10am (CEST) - Saturday

Perth 4pm (AWST) - Saturday

Sydney 7pm (AEDT) - Saturday

Register

Webinar 2: USA/Canada

23 October - Late Session

Los Angeles 2pm (PDT) - Saturday

New York 5pm (EDT) - Saturday

London 10pm (BST) - Saturday

Frankfurt 11pm (CEST) - Saturday

Perth 5am (AWST) - Sunday*

Sydney 8am (AEDT) - Sunday*

Register